The Corporation of the Township of Douro-Dummer

By-Law Number 2020-44

A By-law to appoint Cunningham, Swan, Carty, Little & Bonham LLP as the Integrity Commissioner for The Corporation of the Township of Douro-Dummer

Whereas the Municipal Act, S.O. 2001, as amended (the "Act"), provides that a municipal power, including a municipality's capacity, rights, powers and privileges under Section 9, shall be exercised by by-law;

And Whereas Section 223.2 (1) provides that a municipality shall establish codes of conduct for members of the council of the municipality and of its local boards;

And Whereas Section 223.3 of the Act authorizes a municipality to appoint an Integrity Commissioner who reports to Council and who is responsible for performing in an independent manner the functions assigned by the municipality;

And Whereas the Council of The Corporation of the Township of Douro-Dummer adopted By-law 2018-53, as amended, being the Code of Conduct for Council which outlines the powers, duties and responsibilities of the Municipality's Integrity Commissioner;

Now Therefore the Council of The Corporation of the Township of Douro-Dummer hereby enacts as follows:

- That The Corporation of the Township of Douro-Dummer does enter into an Integrity Commissioner Services Agreement in writing with Cunningham, Swan, Carty, Little & Bonham LLP for Interim Integrity Commissioner Services, subject to the terms and conditions therein stated, effective September 1, 2020.
- 2. That the Acting Chief Administrative Officer and the Clerk be authorized to execute the Integrity Commissioner Services Agreement in writing with Cunningham, Swan, Carty, Little & Bonham LLP.
- 3. That Cunningham, Swan, Carty, Little & Bonham LLP be appointed as the Integrity Commissioner for The Corporation of the Township of-Dummer as outlined in the Integrity Commissioner Services Agreement effective September 1, 2020.
- 4. That this by-law shall be commonly called the "Appointment of Integrity Commissioner By-law".
- 5. That By-law 2020-20 shall be repealed on August 31, 2020.

Passed in open Council this 4th day of August, 2020.

Mayor, J. Murray Jones

Clerk, Crystal McMillan